A Revelation

I would like to say just before any of you start reading this…my thoughts may be a bit all over the place and it might not always make total sense but I really feel the need to just write and get all my feelings out so apologies in advance.

Apologies for the lack of activity in recent weeks. I had set myself a goal to really work at this blog but it’s all got a bit much and I’ve been finding things quite tough as of late.

Being away from school, peers and friends for three months has taken its toll on me, more than I had anticipated. I won’t deny the fact that I’m not in a great place at the moment but I think the best way to overcome it is to be open about it and who knows, you might be able to help others in similar situations too.

I often get told that it will all make sense in the long-run and I will gain from this experience. When you’re in it, it’s difficult. Really difficult. And you can’t really see much good coming out of it and I agree, I’m struggling to find many positives at the moment. However, there’s one in particular that I feel the need to write about.

I’ve been able to really see who my true friends are.

It’s been a surprise and hard to accept those who haven’t been there but it’s also very heartwarming to see those who have well and truly been there to give me the lift when I needed it, a shoulder to cry on (sometimes literally) and just been there to make me smile. The ones that don’t necessarily contact you everyday but make sure they are there for you and make the effort to say hello or check up on how you’re getting on.The ones who stick by you and are there for you when you need them most. It may be a small few, but they are special and I won’t be able to forget the care and love they have shown me over the past few months. I cannot thank them enough for their support. And, as I have been told a number of times, the number of true friends can be counted only on one hand and this experience has certainly proven that for me.

I take great joy from being able to just sit down and scribble my thoughts down onto a page. Although fully aware they might not always make perfect sense or be a piece of literary gold but I love this way of being able to keep a record of my feelings, albeit a short one for me at the moment. But I am determined to get back into the swing of things and surround myself in the things that make me happy; food, coffee, friends and family (maybe a spot of shopping here and there too!).

So keep going, take time for yourself and certainly do more of what makes you happy.

Love Sassy x


One thought on “A Revelation

Leave a comment