A long weekend in Mells, Somerset

Its official. Technology hates me. I’ve tried to write this blog post about five times but every time I restarted, my computer decided to crash and delete  everything. So here it is… finally (apologies)!

They say ‘a picture paints a thousand words’ so I thought what better way to write a post than with a collection of my photos from a recent trip away to Somerset.

Last weekend, we stayed in the beautiful village of Mells. Close to the town of Frome and hidden within the picturesque countryside, it is an ideal place to retreat and get away from it all.

Although a fairly small village, Mells is home to some real gems. One being the hotel we stayed at, The Talbot Inn, and the other being ‘The Walled Garden’ which is directly opposite. The Talbot Inn is an old coaching inn with a handful of rooms, all of which ooze calm and serenity (just what I need at the moment!). I woke each morning to a beautiful view of the green, green countryside and the chirping of birds. I’m fully aware of how ‘Disney’ this may all sound but I don’t lie, it was pure bliss.

    

A particular mention must go to the food. Suppers of pan-fried gurnard and grilled seabass to breakfasts of smoked salmon and poached eggs and not to mention the ‘Hangover’ spread that’s on offer – a jar of aspirin and all the ingredients to make your own Bloody Mary (or two?) – the perfect cure for those who may need a little pick-me-up in the morning to face the rest of the day. Fortunately, I didn’t need to take the Talbot up on their kind offer but the concept is brilliant and certainly made me chuckle.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset    

Just over the road from the Talbot is ‘The Walled Garden’ which is a small collection of artfully designed gardens filled with flowers, plants and sculptures set overlooking rolling hills. I’m told it’s particularly popular amongst cyclists who pop in to stop off at the cafe that’s located within the gardens. The cafe offer a selection of teas, cakes, sandwiches and they even have an authentic pizza oven where they bake their own freshly made pizzas. They smelt divine but having come straight from breakfast I thought it may have been a little too indulgent of me to have yet more food!

Unfortunately I didn’t take many photos of my trip away. I was too focussed on relaxing, eating and shopping but, as you’ve probably guessed from the photos in the blog, I did take a few whilst in the gardens so enjoy!

Love Sassy x


Leave a comment